Skip to content

Somewhere Over the Rainbow

June 1, 2013

106

There was a jumper in my neighborhood this week. No, not a pair of children’s overalls or a sleeveless dress worn over a blouse, but a woman – young, attractive, who kept an immaculate home and plunged 25 floors to her death.

I hear she had some financial problems. Most people do in this economy. ((((Sigh))))). Today just outside the window where she jumped, a rainbow arced over the lake after a slight rain shower. Some say rainbows are a sign of hope. I wonder if she had lived to see this day…that rainbow would she had gotten the feeling that she could go on just one more day…one more week…one more month…one more year. I wonder would this day, that rainbow had brought her some news to assure her that her problems were not as hopeless as she believed them to be? I wonder who feels like jumping now because she jumped…who loves her, grieves for her – who has to make the arrangements.

The best definition of suicide I ever heard was that it is a permanent solution to temporary problems. Today I hope she is somewhere over the rainbow and at peace.

No comments yet

What do you think???