Skip to content

Buddhism and the Booty-Call pt.7

October 30, 2012

Here’s what I told him: “I think it’s interesting that when I have a low budget problem you are Johnny-on-the-spot at the ready to solve it, for me. But when I have a big ticket dilemma suddenly it becomes a matter of karma that I need to change and you offer me diamoku when I ask for dollars!”

Jeremy didn’t miss a beat. He told me I was exactly right. He continued to tell me how he probably hurt me more than he helped me by assisting me with my smaller problem and that he should have let me work out that karma too. Oh, no he didn’t!  Oh, yes he did.

So I ask, what is the protocol when Buddhism gets mixed with what begins as the booty-call, but then morphs into something else? Doesn’t faith equal daily life?  Everyone knows the male/female dynamic is based on a series of reciprocals…sort of a quid pro quo romance dance. I look pretty for you. You act strong for me. I cook. You fix things around the house. You don’t bug me about getting a mani/pedi every Monday morning. I don’t bug you about watching football every Monday night. I let you give me a pearl necklace. You give me money to actually go buy one.

That’s how it’s always worked since the slaying of the wooly mammoth. Even at the height of the women’s movement it still worked this way. We wanted to be allowed to climb the ladder but we didn’t mind you holding it steady for us while we climbed. Not every woman will admit this openly but any woman who doesn’t agree with this just a little is not being completely honest with you or with herself. We expect you to hold our doors and pick up the check and make us feel safe and provided for just because, and when we are having frequent top quality freaky sex with you, you better believe we really expect it!

Otherwise we’d all just be…TO BE CONTINUED

No comments yet

What do you think???

