Skip to content

Buddhism and The Booty-Call pt.3

October 26, 2012

But the next day it turned out the starter wasn’t the real problem after all; there was some major electrical problem instead, which would likely cost major dollars.

Jeremy asked me what I wanted to do. Knowing nothing about cars other than the long pedal makes them go and the short pedal makes them stop, I snapped, “I don’t know I’m on vacation fix it!” The moment I said it I felt how harsh it sounded but that’s the thing about words once you spit em out you can’t slurp em back up…and once you blog em they live forever in the cloud, so I shouldn’t even be writing this…but anyway…

After a short pause, he said, “Ok.” I tried to redeem myself with some softer words delivered in a modulated tone to convey how much I appreciated everything he had done so far and I reminded him I knew it would likely be a detailed costly endeavor which is why I had put off dealing with it. Of course my words turned into a babbling ramble, but I think it ended with something like, “I don’t know Jeremy what do you think?” And he followed with something like, “Well let’s just see if we can find out what the actual problem is, then take it from there.”

I returned from vacation and the car drama continued. All kinds of parts were needed from the most obscure only can get it at an authorized dealership part to the random I bet we can find it at a junk yard part. Jeremy scoured the city and surrounding burbs rounding up every part my car needed and paying for them all.  He made it his mission to get it fixed.  I’m still not sure if he was so invested in my car repairs because he was a man and I was a woman he had just slept with…tried to sleep with… and all that that means or if he was being a dutiful Buddhist making good causes. The only thing I did know was that the back and forth with my car caused Jeremy and me to spend lots of time together.

The more time we spent together, he began to appear more and more appealing to me…like a knight in amour with a cape and super powers at the ready to rescue me.  Sometimes you deliberately use your charms, or your gams or whatever ya got to your advantage, with no real feeling or regard for the other person’s feelings. We’ve all done it. Women are most known for it but men do it too: Officer how fast was I going (cue: eyelash flutter)Or, Boy sure is hot out here mowing this lawn (cue: shirt unbuttoning) think I could get a glass of that homemade iced tea you make so well (cue: remove shirt use it to wipesweat dripping down perfectly chiseled abs)?  “Sure, could I make you a sandwich too?” answered the lady getting her lawn cut for cheap.

But that was not the case this time. I was really starting to like Jeremy…dare I say I even swooned a little…then a little more. Women like to feel safe. Men like to feel needed. For a time it seemed we both were feeling what we wanted to feel…TO BE CONTINUED

No comments yet

What do you think???

