Skip to content

Auld Lange Syne

December 31, 2011

My first memory of the song “Auld Lange Syne” was circa New Year’s Eve 1969-70, in front of the black and white television with my Grandmother and Guy Lombardo.

 

It was the first time I ever saw Granny cry.

She was a tough feisty broad who NEVER cried.

She told me, “That song always makes me cry.”

 

When I asked why, she explained the song was about endings and beginnings, about friendship and days gone by. Instantly I cried too, even though I was barely in Kindergarten.

 

Auld Lange Syne still makes me cry, especially now that I can appreciate the lyrics, having now had many endings, many beginnings and many, many pints!

 

So here’s to you, my old acquaintances who will no doubt be fugging up the lyrics round midnight. And in case you were wondering, Auld Lange Syne translates to “Old Long Since” or “Long Long Ago” or “Days Gone By”.

 

Auld Lang Syne

Composed by Scottish poet Robert Burns 1788

 

Should old acquaintance be forgot,

and never brought to mind?

Should old acquaintance be forgot,

and old lang syne?

 

CHORUS:

For auld lang syne, my dear,

for auld lang syne,

we’ll take a cup of kindness yet,

for auld lang syne.

And surely you’ll buy your pint cup!

And surely I’ll buy mine!

And we’ll take a cup o’ kindness yet,

for auld lang syne.

 

We two have run about the slopes,

and picked the daises fine;

But we’ve wandered many a weary foot,

since auld lang syne.

 

We two have paddled in the stream,

from morning sun till dine;

But seas between us broad have roared

since auld lang syne.

 

And there’s a hand my trusty friend!

And give us a hand o’thine!

And we’ll take a right good-will draught,

for auld lang syne.

 

 

 

 

Happy New Year!!!

 

No comments yet

What do you think???

