Skip to content

Saw the Dali Lama Yesterday

July 18, 2011

What an experience.

Some people just ooze goodness – he is one of those people.

I missed him on his last visit to my city.  Back then I was deeply ensconced in the CSI (cult sure is) school of Buddhism and was pretty much convinced seeing his Holiness was an event I could/should could forego….

Boy am I glad that phase is done.

He talked for nearly two hours about bridging the Faith divide.

How do we do it…

Why we should do it…

The gathering ended with a Tibetan nun singing Amazing Grace in Tibetan.

I cried, for the 1st time ever while listening to that song.  I had made up my mind years ago the song meant nothing to me once I learned its author was singing praises to his slave ship the “amazing grace’….but the song fell on my ears differently yesterday.

My favorite walk away quote, ” We must make the distinction between not finding something and finding it not to be the case.” This answer was given  partly in response to the question, can religion and science co-exist and on the topic of  the existence or non-existence of God….but I find it to be a mindset useful for a plethora or conundrums…I’m just sayin’….

Now here’s the thing that kinda felt off and I don’t know exactly why but you know me I just gotta say it…

Ok, so the event was held at a university sports arena…that’s fine, it’s large enough to accommodate the crowd.

But at sporting events there are concessions and the same concessions were available for purchase yesterday.

There was just something off to me about seeing groups of people filing in to hear the Dali Lama with huge buckets of popcorn and sausage pizza slices… does that bug anyone or is it just me?

 But then again it was all about bridging the Faith divide….’oh holy slice your cheese is brightly shining, it is the night of our supersize coke…”

Smug Gassho

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mark Rogow permalink
    July 20, 2011 10:41 pm

    The Dalai Lama can’t even reconcile his differences with China but he lectures on bridging the faith divide. Nichiren also teaches how to bridge the faith divide: Convert everyone to the Lotus Sutra.

    Mark

    • rougebuddha permalink
      July 21, 2011 5:44 am

      Mark, I debated with myself about to post or not post your comment.
      I’ve read you for a while and I enjoy your blog from time to time for entertainment purposes only and to remind me just what it was like being in a cult.
      Speaking of bridging the faith divide,of what Nichiren teaches and of converting everyone to the Lotus Sutra, you have heard of the whole shoshu vs soka skirmish, right? But posting your comment is exactly what the Dali Lama’s message was all about. You can be free to think what you want and that’s o-key-doe-key. Just do me a favor and don’t start a post and post back “typearugelouge” with me…you know like you are known for doing and like has gotten you banned from some other sites we visit, with Gassho and p.s. No I never posted anywhere as snap diva…so like you Mark,you do know there is more than one black female blogger in the world, right?Go to your happy place Mark…g’head…

  2. Mark Rogow permalink
    July 21, 2011 12:48 pm

    You seem very Snapdiverish. Anyone might have made the same mistake. The Dalai Lama was born with a silver spoon in his mouth and knows about as much about the struggles of the common man as the queen of England. Nichiren Daishonin and his teachings is a far more reliable compass for creating a peaceful world despite the foibles of his so-called disciples.

What do you think???

