Skip to content

Vexed by Texts

June 28, 2011

So, yesterday when I used my trusty Verizon Wireless 411 Connect service to get the number for my neighborhood bookstore, the annoyingly friendly automated voice informs me I can press 1 to have the listing sent as a text message to my phone…sure why not?

The fine folks from Verizon Wireless 411 Connect, by some technosphere glitch

texted the friggin listing to my happy little mobile device ALL DAY LONG!

Initially it was only a pesty little problem, until I learned that, THAT was the only

text I was receiving and all my other incoming texts and calls were bouncing around on a

server somewhere in the technosphere! WTF???

Oh it’s fixed now, but at what price? The fine folks from VW had to reset my happy little

mobile device and in so doing they had to delete ALL of my contacts, ALL of my saved

photographs, and ALL of my calendar entries. My happy little mobile device is anything but happy for the moment. Or perhaps it’s happier than it has been in a long time.

Every now and then a good purge is just what the doctor ordered.

Of the 500 some numbers I had stored I only felt the immediate need

to write down 3 of them on paper before Josh at the Verizon store killed the messenger.

The moral of the story is: what you think about, what you speak about, what you bitch and moan and complain about, you bring about…didn’t I just rant in the previous post about getting too many text messages? And the obvious moral, although so, so not the most important one is to store your numbers somewhere other than in your phone (SIM card Smartphone my azz…I mean app).

And if you are someone I call, have called or am expected to call please please please

call me soon, so I can re-store your number. And whatever you do, if the Verizon Wireless 411 Connect voice offers to text the listing you just called for to your device

DO NOT DO IT!!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. JADE permalink
    June 28, 2011 10:43 pm

    OMG, What a screw up! They have no idea with whom they have crosssed !

    • rougebuddha permalink
      June 29, 2011 6:34 am

      *mLOL (meniacal laugh out loud)! Jade, don’t forget to hit me on the celly cuz’ I no longer have your new telly!Thanx

What do you think???

