Skip to content

Anti-Virus Software

August 18, 2010

Sunday I ran into an old acquaintance – a travel agent who used to book travel for my family. We exchanged business cards, agreed to stay in touch and went our separate ways.

Within hours I received the following E-mail from her:

 
 
Subj: In Malaysia/August 16/ I need your help …
Date: 8/16/2010 5:35:01 AM Central Daylight Time
From:    ***

Hope you get this on time, sorry I didn’t inform you about my trip to Malaysia for a Program, I’m presently in Malaysia and am having some difficulties here because i misplaced my wallet on my way to the hotel where I stayed. presently i have limited access to internet, I want you to assist me with a loan of $3,500 to sort-out my hotel bills and to get myself back home.
    
I have spoken to the embassy but they are not responding to the matter effectively, I will appreciate whatever you can afford to assist me with so I can get back home, I’ll reimburse you upon my return, let me know if you can be of any help so that I can send details on how to get the money to me.
   
Please let me know immediately.
   
Regards
 
***

…To which I replied by encouraging her to update her anti-virus software, as I was certain the

E-mail did not come from her. Mostly because, the time from us seeing each other and the time it would have taken her to get to Malaysia just didn’t add up. Secondly because I get at least a dozen E-mails a week from some foreign Prince or Princess who are enlisting my help with some kind of financial transaction or from some representative of one of my long lost uncles (of which I have none) advising me on how to claim the multi-million dollar inheritance left to me. All I need to do in every case according to these urgent messages is to get to the nearest Western Union and wire a modest processing fee ASAP!

Gimme-A-Break!

No, dear one, I will not be assisting you in your efforts to settle your Malaysian affairs.

But I give you mad cool points for your creativity.

And I will be updating my own anti-virus software as well.

Peace be your journey!

No comments yet

What do you think???

