Skip to content

The Five-Year Plan

June 29, 2010

Where do you see yourself in five years?
Ever been asked that question?

It’s a popular question usually asked by interviewers to job seeking hopefuls.

The answer they are looking for is for you to wax on about how focused you are and about what you know you can do for the company’s profit margin better than the other people clutching their padded resumes in hand, waiting to be seen next.

Five years is a long time or a short time depending on where you sit and on who’s asking the questions.

Today is the 5th Anniversary of my Mother’s death.

Five years ago today I got the dreaded call and most of the time since has been like one long continuous day. Back then I would never have imagined that I would live to see this day. And I most certainly would never have imagined that my dearest cousin, who died in April of this year, would not have lived to see it.

Since my cousin’s death this April, I’ve more than once or twice wondered if I will have another five years to plan. Life is fragile. Or better said, bodies are fragile – life is eternal.

Today, five years later, my body is a little slower, my hair is a little grayer and my family is much smaller – so small it includes only me. So where do I see myself in the next five years?

Five years from now…

I hope to have made peace with my regrets

I hope to have a few people I know I can count on

I hope to have a few people who know they can count on me

I hope to understand what it means to be content

I hope to be true to myself

None of these answers would get me the job offer, but then again, the interviewer put off by these answers is offering a job I don’t want.

What’s your 5-year plan?

No comments yet

What do you think???

