Skip to content

Grasshopper! What?

June 7, 2009

I’ve wanted to say something about the death of actor David Carradine since hearing the news last week. I just didn’t know what to say.

I thought I’d wax on and on about how my Mom loved watching his 70’s TV drama Kung Fu when I was a kid and how I hated it, except for the fight scenes. …About how the Kung Fu Master gave me the creeps with his milky blind eyeballs and how I never knew and still don’t know why Cain was called Grasshopper.

I’ve never watched the show as an adult so I don’t know the details. But I do know the show was one of a specific group of childhood memories that have influenced my fascination with Asian, specifically, Buddhist philosophy.

Trite but true.

Before I learned of the alleged details of Carradine’s death I was distantly saddened. You know the sadness that pricks your senses whenever someone famous dies. It’s not a personal loss but it still registers as a loss of sorts.

I visited Carradine’s official website to get some insight into who the man – not the character – actually was. I learned he had been an artist as well as an actor and that painting was his first love.

I learned his father was also an actor of considerable notoriety.

I learned his acting career was much broader than his roles on Kung Fu and Kill Bill.

Then I learned of the alleged circumstances of his death. I wondered how does one even discover they enjoy such behavior? I hear my judgmental tone and it annoys me somewhat (I’m sure there are things I enjoy that would have some of you asking, “What?”) nevertheless I still wonder.

I’ve always considered myself to be sensually adventurous but come on!
Can anyone shed any light on this particular sensual oddity? I don’t get it. I’m not sure that I need to get it – beyond the “we’re all connected” mindset, but still I’m most perplexed by the news. I’m still saddened by Carradine’s death, but now the initial distant sadness has morphed into blaring curiosity.

It seemed his career was on an upswing. He was in Bangkok filming a movie. Was this nothing more than a night of celebration gone rogue or something more sinister?

Was someone else involved? I mean really, how does one get rigged up the way it’s been described, alone? I have dresses and jewelry I can’t even get into without help.

Honestly I don’t know the point of this post. I just wanted to pose some questions … Anybody???

No comments yet

What do you think???

