Skip to content

What Came First the Chicken or the Egg?

March 22, 2009
tags:

Do we feel good when good things happen to us?
Or…
Do good things happen to us when we feel good?

When you are in a funk and everything seems to be off kilter, will things shift when you make the determination, from somewhere deep and intangible, to shake off the dust, to woman or man up and get it together? Or do you require an infusion of unpredictable goodness as the impetus for shaking off the dust and “womaning” or “maning” up?

Oh hell no, I don’t have the answer. I’m asking all of you…
Somebody get back to me with a comment. I’d like to know your thoughts on this one.

Thankx

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Shawnna permalink
    March 23, 2009 8:09 am

    I have always believed that a positive attitude brings more happiness and good into your life. It just seemed to fit with every person that I knew.

    Then my mom (aka “Shirley Negative”) read The Secret and it changed her life- seriously! I was lazy and got the film from Netflix, and was prepared to pooh-pooh it. Instead, I found myself nodding in agreement the whole time. It just convinced me even more that the universe gives you what you focus on.

    • rougebuddha permalink
      March 23, 2009 7:35 pm

      Shawnna:
      I will not tell Shirley you called her that(giggle)! She is most charming. I didn’t see the negative, but maybe I met her post Secret?
      I agree the universe does give us what we focus on. The trick or the treat, I suppose, is that we are not aware enough about what we are focusing on. Thank you for your comment.

  2. March 23, 2009 1:07 pm

    Dear RougeBuddah:

    I really thought I had responded to your previous blog, but I probably had too many thoughts at one time. I think you’re writing is abosolutely fabulous!

    Chicken or the Egg: I am in the camp of the “Law of Attraction.” We feel better when we look at the glass half full and find ways to keep it filling up. However, sometimes a something special happens when we need it most and it’s usually because we’ve earned it. Our friendships and kindness that we’ve shown others does indeed come back in one form or another.

    Hey, receiving your message was just one of those moments.

    T

    • rougebuddha permalink
      March 23, 2009 7:40 pm

      T:
      Thank you for your comment. You, Shawnna & Shirley all know a Secret. I have great respect for Laws – the law of Attraction, the law of Gravity…Traffic Laws even. I’m challenged by which Laws superceed other Laws. Your responses are helping me crack the code. Keep ’em coming!

What do you think???

