Skip to content

Cell Phones Off?

March 17, 2009

I apologize to everyone I’ve ever snarled at for having a ringing cell phone in what is commonly understood to be a place of quiet. The library. The funeral. The poetry reading. The church, temple, synagogue or other house of prayer. Even the bus, at the end of the day when we all have worked, are tired and don’t want to hear your phone ring, much less, hear your conversation.

Today I was guilty of this very faux pas. After a lengthy absence, for way too many reasons to get all “bloggy” about each of them right now, I visited my Buddhist sangha for morning prayers. I’ve been particularly salty with them and not in the universal salty taste, salt of the earth kind of way, but in the cranky, disrupting the unity of the sangha kind of way.

One of the reasons I will get “bloggy” about now, was what I perceived as irreverence for the sangha, characterized by some specific actions on the part of some specific people. The action that bound up my beads most was the ringing cell phone during prayer. WTF?

Why? How? Come on people!!! There’s a time and a place for everything. The cell phone has no place at that time. So this morning before going in, in an effort to practice what I preach, I did not simply adjust my phone to vibrate, but I turned it to the silent mode.

What about the off mode you ask? Shut up. I need my calls. What I don’t need is to hear phones ring. That’s why they have silent and vibrate modes!

Seconds, from the first prayer bells I hear it. My most despised sound, the ringing cell phone, at the sangha. Cute ring tone, but not now! Familiar ring tone… Shit it’s my ring tone and it’s coming from my jacket pocket! How can that be? I turned the damn thing on silent, just like everyone was turning to look at me for being the ass with a jingling cell phone at the start of one of the quietest moments of the gathering. Tsk. Tsk. Tsk.

So how did that happen?

Technology can have a mind of it’s own at times. You know, the email you know you sent but they never received. The certified letter the post office sends you a notice to pick up but for some reason is not there when you go to get it. The smoke detector that alarms when you fry chicken but not when the candle flickers against the shower curtain. Or does this shit just happen to me?

At any rate, my phone was on silent when I went in and it rang anyway.
I’m sorry.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Clever One permalink
    March 18, 2009 11:01 am

    LOL! I sooooo love how that happened to you. Things seem different from the other side, don’t they?

    Much love

What do you think???

